To Wear or Not To Wear a Mask – That is the Question!

Myself in the Science Museum, February 2020

Oblivious to the fact that people are buying out toilet paper, beans, peanut butter and hand-wash – I have gone to my local Sainsbury’s today and realised that the shelves are empty. I did not notice it straight away as there are still plenty of fruits, veg, eggs and pretty much everything you need available in most areas of the store. But the isles storing canned foods, spreads, anti-flu medicines and soap are clear.

It is hard not to give up to panic when something you have been reading and hearing about becomes your own experience. The natural reaction is to buy more of the product you may not even need all that much, just in case. If everybody does that – the store runs out of it. It is harder for big supermarkets to place an increased order for certain articles with the supplier because of the dynamics of the allocation process. You will stand a bigger chance of getting your daily consumer goods such as loo roll and hygienic supplies from private local shops because they can react relatively faster to the increased sudden demand.

The interesting thing for me is that people do not oppose to buying all they may potentially need but wearing a face mask in a street or on a bus is still somewhat of a taboo that seems like an overreaction or being silly and extravagant. I had a guy laughing at me today when he saw me wearing a mask, a kid looking at me with a huge interest as if seeing something unusual and plenty of other people on the bus also drawing their gaze towards me or trying to hide a smile appearing in the corner of their lips. In a way I do not mind – it is better to be a trendsetter than getting the virus – that is how I see it. It is not nice though to come across such ignorance at the times when many people actually do get infected.

We tolerate and are used to Asian people wearing hygienic face-masks but when we see Europeans doing the same – it is almost unacceptable. Out of 10 individual passers-by I saw today in masks not a single one was European and only one was African. Also the guy laughing at me was European and all the other guys trying to hide their smile were the same.

What does it tell you? For me the tendency is not good. I feel actually pressured not to wear a mask when I come across such a hard reaction.

Vogmask – antibacterial face-masks with prints

In my view the government should encourage people to use hygienic face-masks, even give them out for free in Oxford Circus or Euston Station to the morning commuters while they are on their way to work. Perhaps we need to create some breakthrough in this attitude – if everyone wore a mask you would stand out if you did not do it rather than feel stupid for actually wanting to protect yourself. It is as if feeling overly cautious when using a condom on the first date through Tinder. Actually it is just common sense and the right thing to do, not an awkwardness.

Before closing down schools, theatres or shops I would appeal to our NHS to actually tell people to wear the masks on the daily basis, even give out fines for not doing it. If everyone did the same thing – I would definitely feel more safe.

If I have to wear a face-mask I want it to be a fashion statement. That is why mine is pink. It is actually a mask that protects you from pollution while riding a motorcycle or a bicycle. That is what is has been originally designed and bought for but I find it does the job just as well. Please, do not laugh at it. Get your own one. Rather than buying 10 tones of rice for the next century – buy something to isolate you from the direct exposure to germs. If you want a mask with flowers, stripes or hearts – I do not mind. Being safe can be fun! Toilet roll on its own is not going to save you from the virus.

It does not hurt to stock up although you may end up eating the same food for the next decade if you are extreme with it. One day you would not like to think that all of that was in vain because it was too hard for you to break out from the crowd and wear a mask, so you got the virus anyway. If there are reported cases of it in all the surrounding countries and even in London – please, be more cautious.

Leave a comment